View Single Post
Old 05-17-2008, 02:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
trebuchet03
MechE

The Miata - '01 Mazda MX-5 Miata
2008 ASME Human Powered Vehicle Challenge

You may, or may not, know... I'm an undergraduate student and I've been competing the these Human Powered Vehicle Challenges...

Every year, ASME holds an East and West (and now one in Venezuela) event. There's a design event, sprint event and 65K endurance. Scores are based on points earned from each event, the design being worth 40% and the sprint/endurance worth 30% each. The design is a 30 page (max) technical paper and 5 minute oral presentation with a few follow up questions (which, by the way, I nailed with 20 seconds to spare for extra questions ).

Here's a few photos from the event... I'm waiting to get more as I was so busy running around/managing this year that I didn't take too many.

Rose Hulman IT - They took 1st overall... That's a monocoque frame/fairing (CF/Kevlar - honeycomb - Kevlar) with steel sub frame for the drive train. I got to talk with the team (nice people) and ride this one after the event in it's endurance mode (as seen here - they have a fully sealed canopy too). It's solid - a really nice ride.

Missouri S&T (Formerly UMR) - 2nd overall. That's a steel frame with carbon fairing and composite roll bar. The resolution of this picture is low, but there seemed to be a rider fit issue with one of the pilots - constant rubbing on the windscreen caused his knees to open up and pour quite a bit of blood :/

They had a cool looking composite axle - super wide... It really pulled through the tight corners.

Another MST vehicle - they competed in the utility portion too... Rear wheel steering to boot. While not necessarily novel, I gota give them credit for having the testicular fortitude to go for RWS