View Single Post
Old 05-16-2012, 02:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ford Man
Master EcoModder

mwebb, The writer didn't say all shops were like this, but you and I both know there are garages where this is common practice. If I recall correctly from when I read this he said he use to work as a mechanic, not just a paper pusher. I do most of my own repairs and have been learning about cars for the past 40 years, since before I started driving, but when it's something I don't have the knowledge or tools to do myself I tell them specifically what I want done. I don't throw parts at a problem either I do my own diagnosis. When electronic ignition and computer controlled systems became popular I didn't know about any of it, but I studied the systems and learned about them and about anyone who sets their mind to it can do the same thing. My son's car had a #4 cylinder misfire a couple weeks ago, there were many possibilities, but with testing the components I was able to figure out it was a bad coil. If my son had taken the car to a garage probably the first thing they would have done would have been put in a new set of plugs and wires which it didn't need. About the only things I won't tackle with my self learned skills, tools, Chilton's, Haynes, and Ford factory manuals are transmission repairs, internal engine repairs and exhaust system repairs. I have done my own exhaust system repairs, but found it was much easier to let someone else do it and didn't cost much more than the parts cost me. I too have tools that I've bought for a specific job that may never be used more than 1 or 2 times and I also have a few I've bought just in case, but the savings by doing my own work was well worth the purchase price of the tools. I used to work as a carpenter and know the expense of having to buy tools for the job, replacing broken/worn out tools and tools that get lost. I had hand tools, electric tools and battery operated tools that got lost, wore out or got damaged that I had to replace