View Single Post
Old 09-17-2012, 03:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
RobertISaar
Master EcoModder

MC SBX - '95 Chevrolet Monte Carlo LS
Last 3: 29.75 mpg (US)
I guess now is a good time...

to introduce myself.

i'm not certain what parts of this will be interesting and what won't but take it for what you will.

by trade, i'm a machinist, though i've pretty much been out of that field of work since ~2009 or so due to the massive economic slowdown that occurred. since then, i've been studying a lot of different areas that interest me, usually funding my projects and efforts with automotive mechanic work that occasionally comes around.

anyways, sometime in 2010, i got interested in two somewhat similar fields: electrical engineering and programming. now, when i say electrical engineering, i basically mean reverse engineering what i have to learn how it works and to make it better. and by programming, i mean disassembling automotive calibrations to see what makes them tick and how to improve them as well. i'd like to think i'm well known in the GM OBD1 tuning community, i'm starting to transition into the OBD2 game as well if only to speed up the development of open source/free/cheaper tuning tools like the OBD1 community has.

with OBD1, i haven't done just simple calibration like most people ever get into, i tend to patch in sections of code to add in neat things that the factory never intended on being possible, like additional rev limiters based on clutch/brake status, additional spark advance added when the engine enters highway fuel(you guys seem to call it lean burn) mode to account for the slower combustion speed of AFRs leaner than stoich, etc... i'm VERY fluent with stuff like the Motorola 68HC11 and am working on the Motorola 68000 series currently, though the Arduino language looks like it will be a very friendly environment to work with when i get to needing to use it.