View Single Post
Old 10-15-2012, 04:22 PM   #80 (permalink)
wmjinman
Master EcoModder

Jimmy - '00 GMC Jimmy SLT
90 day: 21.18 mpg (US)

The White Gnat - '99 Suzuki Swift
Team Suzuki
90 day: 51.87 mpg (US)
RiderofBikes,

During my past life as a land surveyor, I picked up a few concepts in my 27 year career. While maybe not "scientifically rigorous" statistics-wise, we had many methods for ensuring our results were good. We hardly did anything without checking it. If we measured a distance, we'd measure it twice. If we'd turn an angle, we'd turn it twice (or more). Same thing with elevations. The concept of "closing the traverse" is to make sure that when you come back to where you started from, your measurements in your notes ALSO say you came back to that same point. Same thing with "closing a level loop"

When I read Metro MPGs article on "proper testing" with the "A-B-A" method, it made perfect sense to me as a surveyor. So while maybe not statistically rigorous, I think three "sets" of data can tell you something IF they're consistant. The first one gives you a number. The second one gives you a comparison. Then the third one confirms (or disputes) that your set is consistant.

For example, you make 3 "A" runs (two way, of course) and get 40.2, 40.1 and another 40.1. Actually, that would be 6 runs, since these are all the averages of the "out and back". But I would personally be very satisfied to go away thinking the results were 40.133 or whatever it comes out to. (actually, 40.1 taking "significant figures" into account). However, if the runs were 40.2, 41.8, and 33.4, I'd want to do some more, because the spread was so great.