View Single Post
Old 06-05-2013, 08:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
SiVX
EcoModdingRealist

The Blue Lagoon - '92 Honda Civic VX
FS: 1992 Honda Civic VX 152,XXX miles. $4,000 FIRM

PRICE LOWERED TO $3,700

History:
92' Honda Civic VX w/ 152,000 original miles, in good condition. 3 owners. Car was first owned by a lady in New York City where it was driven very little. I bought the car from it's second owner, who lived in New Jersey and used it for work as a vehicle to deliver pharmaceuticals. I purchased the car in April 2012 as an experiment. I'm an engineering student and am fascinated with high MPG vehicles.

Modifications:
I made some simple modifications to the car in pursuit of high MPG.
I swapped the seats out with bolstered 1997 Honda Prelude seats and added an NRG strut brace to allow for faster cornering (less braking needed).
The exhaust was rusting so it now has a 2007 Honda Civic Si exhaust. (Bolted right on, just needed the muffler hangers moved back about 2". Helps MPG back reducing exhaust back pressure)
It now sports Honda Civic HX wheels. These are also extremely light weight wheels, like the original VX wheels. They are an inch bigger (14"), weigh just over 11 lbs. each and were manufactured by Enkei.
I replaced the side mirrors with Spoon style mirrors. (Sporty and reduced drag) Then added a JDM passenger mirror block off.
Intermittent wiper stalk from Honda Civic EX.
Metalized tint to keep interior cool.
Installed a OEM cruise control button, hooked it up to fuel pump to use as an engine shut off switch for off coasting and slick anti-theft device. (unhooked at sale for liability)
Also has eBay Si style gauge clusters, eBay front lip to direct air away from wheels and JDM glass lens head lamps.

Maintenance:
I changed the timing belt and water pump after purchasing it, because I was told it hadn't been done. After all the work the belt was actually in good condition, still changed everything.
Replaced the spark plugs, spark wires, and entire distributor.