View Single Post
Old 08-09-2013, 01:45 AM   #20 (permalink)
War_Wagon
5 Gears of Fury

Spunky - '90 Honda Civic CX
90 day: 35.56 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeanBurn View Post
It's all roses when the monthly paychecks keep rolling in, you can borrow until you are blue in the face...should a hiccup occur in that monthly paycheck flow, reality steps in and the monster that never sleeps (aka interest and debt) has you by the short and curlies.
In Alberta it's called "Financial combustion". My buddy managed one of the salvage car auctions out there for years, and business would be OK for a few years, then all of a sudden oil prices would fall. So the oilsands would lay people off. And suddenly, a few weeks later, the auction yard would be full of 6 month old, $60k full load diesel trucks that had been financed out the rear, but had suddenly "been stolen, and then found torched". Riiiiight, and I'm a Chinese jet pilot (I'm not BTW lol).