View Single Post
Old 07-01-2008, 05:26 PM   #117 (permalink)
john_bud
EcoModding Lurker

Hello,

Stumbled on the site and this topic.

First I would like to say that I am a chemical engineer and a car nut. As such, I am the natural predator of bogus automobile technobabble.
As sold, 99.99999% of all the HHO generators sold are pure ripoff. Straight scam. Taking your money.

The scammers are aided and abetted by people (several here) that want there to be a magic fix and self blind or ignore logic, chemistry, physics and quantum mechanics.

One person posted that the refining process "adds energy" and "unless cars run on crude he was right". Sorry, but that's showing a level of chemistry understanding below a 4th graders. Not good. Crude oil is refined to separate it into distinct chemical constituents by boiling points. Lower boiling point fractions condense out at the top (physical top) of the tower and are called "light". Asphalt is from the sludge at the bottom and it heavy. Sweet crude has low sulfur content. So when you read about sweet light crude from Saudi, you should understand it will fraction out more light products like gasoline. Heavy crude from California is used to make asphalt and no gasoline. There is no energy added. In fact, energy is REMOVED because some is burned to boil it so that it can condense and be separated. The process is the same as alcohol distillation. You don't hear about energy being added to whiskey, do you?

Sorry, but the posting that sparked this was just so ignorant I could not stand it.

Now on to electrolysis.