View Single Post
Old 03-09-2014, 03:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
Xist
Not Doug

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 34.2 mpg (US)

Gramps - '04 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 35.39 mpg (US)

Don't hit me bro - '05 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 30.49 mpg (US)
Thanked 2,218 Times in 1,709 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheepdog 44 View Post
Cancelling a credit card that you've had for a few years, especially if it's your oldest card is bad for your credit score. They average how long you've had how many cards you have, the older the better. Learned that the hard way.
I read that! When I graduated from college in 2,007, I did not have any idea where I would work, and it was seventeen months before I found anything stable, by joining the Army. I struggled to pay my credit cards that entire time, and largely lost. I was excited when I started work as a substitute teacher, not having any idea that I would prefer going to war, but I opened a checking account with a credit union that was actually supposed to pay me interest! Then I was supposed to get a great deal with a credit card and I had balance transfers set up and everything! My life was turning around!

Except, I never received the credit card, so I could not activate it, therefore, the balances were never transferred. However, through some form of dark magic, my brand-new credit card showed the transfer anyway. Yay! My credit card debt doubled overnight! I was able to point out that it did not go through and drop the $6,000 balance, but they insisted that I needed to pay the interest on a credit card that I never had. I did not realize that the transfer did not go through until after their respective payments were due, so I was hit with late payment fines, which caused over-limit fees.