View Single Post
Old 08-28-2014, 08:26 AM   #12 (permalink)
Sven7
Master EcoModder

Boo Radley - '65 Ford F100
90 day: 13.28 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by arcosine View Post
Ive been commuting on recumbents for 11 years now. Low racers do not make good commuter bikes. They are too low, you will be looking a cars wheels, drivers won't see you, not to mention semi trucks. Its scary! Too layed back, it's hard to balance, you will find yourself on the ground on the first sand patch. Too heavy, you are using solid steel parts. Ive only ridden a moving bottom bracket bike once, a cruze bike Vendetta. Very strange sensation steering and pedaling, they say you get use to it, but cadence has to be slow due to the dynamic imbalance on the fork, makes it wobble at high speed. Yes, I prefer long wheel base and web seats, though my current commuter is a Vision R40 swb with a tail box. It fits in the saturn. Good luck on your build.
The input is much appreciated. I've heard about people getting spooked in traffic with low bikes, but I guess I just want to try it myself... my theory is that since I'm going slower than traffic, cars will be passing me and I shouldn't have too much of an issue with them seeing me. Especially with copious blinky lights. We don't really get semi trucks on the roads on which I ride- just Suburbans, Exploders, Acadias. Not small vehicles by a long shot, but much better than semis.

I am used to riding bikes heavily laden with groceries, packages and even other bikes (they have to get to the shop somehow), so I don't think the weight will be a problem unless I just can't get it up to speed.