View Single Post
Old 11-17-2014, 12:00 PM   #26 (permalink)
Fat Charlie
Rat Racer

Al the Third, year four - '13 Honda Fit Base
Team Honda
90 day: 42.9 mpg (US)
Thanked 1,922 Times in 1,246 Posts
I'd stay away from this.

As a paid driver, my incentives are almost entirely centered around time. Fuel, brakes, tires and all other usage related expenses are the company's problem while the company and the customers make time my problem. It's going to be really hard to tell a fleet of drivers to focus on longer term corporate savings while their jobs are structured to reward non-eco driving. Even a monthly bonus for a year over year reduction in fuel usage is going to be hard to sell. Is it going to be based on miles traveled? Stops made? We all know what kind of variables hurt fuel usage, and a 21 truck fleet is going to guarantee some of the drivers are idling in traffic jams or simply not eco driving. We also know that every little bit helps and savings add up, but for this program we need to change the incentives for the individual drivers.

How do you increase efficiency in a delivery fleet?
First I'd focus on routing. This isn't just nitpicking over more right turns, but overall loading and dispatching. Who cares what mpg your fleet gets if you're setting it up for failure in the office?