View Single Post
Old 03-09-2015, 05:56 PM   #56 (permalink)
joe24658
EcoModding Lurker

An Ex Truckers Views on MPG for motorhome.

New as a member of the site. I have read many of the posts over the years, but just signed up after reading the comments in this post.

I've been an Owner operator truck Driver the last 15 years. As you can imagine Fuel mileage really affected my profitability as a trucker. Also I am always looking at cost/benefits ratios in making upgrades.

One of the big components of fuel mileage is rolling resistance of the tires. In the trucking industry each individual tire is tested and given a number with respect to rolling resistance. Typically the ribbed tires are better than the drive/traction tires. Recently many have been replacing the dual setups with extra wide singles as they typically have better rolling resistance. Regardless of the type of tire, you must know the rolling resistance, as not all tires follow the typical rules. Michelin tires has a good chart for truck tires rolling resistance.

The components which determine rolling resistance are weight, tread design, rubber compounds and sidewall flexing.

In this post one person stated that he wanted to go to a heavy duty van tire so he could run higher tire pressures. While I understand his reasoning, I have to wonder how much more the van tires weigh and what their rolling resistance is.

When I bought tires for my car, I tried to find out as much information as possible. Consumer reports had a very limited chart regarding rolling resistance and this helped me make my decision. I have to wonder if there is information available for RV tires.

I also wonder how much swapping from rear duals to a wide single would help mileage. There would be less weight and two less sidewalls to flex.

Anyway. I won't run on forever on tires. I realize this is an old thread already.