Thread: BSFC from dyno
View Single Post
Old 03-18-2015, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
ever_green
Master EcoModder

gueff - '19 Mercedes Benz A250 4MATIC AMG
90 day: 30.55 mpg (US)
BSFC from dyno

I spent a good chunk of money this week dyno tuning my Nat Asp 2.5L Subaru. Most of the funds were spent in part throttle tuning. I wanted to find the best BSFC at part and full throttle to improve my acceleration efficiency on the street. I already posted a graph in BSFC sticky but I don't think that's very helpful. I'm not good with graphs so I will just post the RAW data which the computer recorded in ascii files here. Aside from using an inductive dyno to calculate power at all wheels, the dyno used sensors on the vehicle to calculate other information such as BSFC. These sensors included injector pulse width reported by ECU, AFR at tailpipe, mass air intake and etc. The ASCII data files were huge and I used them to come up with the following information file (also attached):

I basically sorted data based on throttle position and found set of RPM's with its respective BSFC, vacuum and power for that engine speed and throttle. The best BSFC for each RPM is highlighted in bold as to simulate best method of acceleration for efficiency.