View Single Post
Old 03-27-2015, 04:12 PM   #59 (permalink)
EVmetro
EcoModding Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeilBlanchard View Post
Thanks for that info - I am a newbie to all the technical stuff on EV's. Does the Orion actively balance the pack while it is in use? One of the things I have been told consumes some energy is when BMS does this. And also, some BMS units shunt the excess energy to ground when a particular cell is fully charged, and a few divert it to other cells that are still charging.

As I understand it, both of these are advantages of bottom balancing the pack.

I totally agree with you on regen, and the way you have implemented it is exactly how I like it. Only the e-Golf and the Fit EV in Eco mode, have coasting. Does your car require you to hold the "shifter" to control the regen, and if you let go of the lever, does it return to coasting?