View Single Post
Old 02-29-2016, 05:22 PM   #141 (permalink)
planejob
BeginnerModder

Ok, Update on the throttle linkage:

Sunday I went out and planned to do some more CAD work and build a "throttle linkage motion translator" - yep, something that turned a pull into a push.

I broke out the handy dandy Michelob Ultra box from the recycle bin and set about cutting the piece to fit. I ended up with a neat little box that folded up fine and when welded together seemed to be somewhat structurally sound.

I had a brake rod from a motorcycle that I was going to use as the pushrod, but it would have been non-adjustable once installed. I studied a bit more on the design (that's code for 'acquired CAD materials', which is code for 'drank beers that came in a box') and decided that some 1/4" rod ends would do the trick perfectly, especially when combined with a 17" piece of all-thread. I'm not sure the all thread will be strong enough, we will see - the failure mode of the all thread would cause the engine to not be able to go to full throttle - so a failure woul dbe an inconvenience, not a safety issue and wouldn't blow up the engine.

I ordered some rod ends from Amazon after visiting Tractor Supply, Home Depot, Lowes, Auto Zone, Oreilly's, and Napa. I pulled up a picture of them on my phone to show the guy at Lowe's... blew his mind. I saw the purple dust come out of the top of his head like in that commercial.

I also purchased insurance for the Geo today. It was like 95 dollars for the year. This insurance business is a scam - how many cars am I going to be driving at once? Why not insure the driver, not the cars? scam scam scam.