View Single Post
Old 03-17-2016, 01:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
thingstodo
Master EcoModder

Ford Prefect - '18 Ford F150 XLT XTR

Tess - '22 Tesla Y LR
Quote:
Originally Posted by cajunfj40 View Post
Hello all,
Hi!

Quote:
I have what may be a motor or controller theory question, and please keep in mind that I'm a Mechanical Engineer, not an EE.

I would like to run two Leaf motors off one controller
As far as I know, Field Oriented control is done per motor. HPEVS has a dual 35 KW motor, and it uses 2 Curtis controllers, one gets the throttle signal and the other follows in torque mode. I have no details - but if they could do it with one controller it would be much more competitive in price.

Quote:
Theoretically, this can be done - at least, it is common in industry to run multiple AC motors off a single VFD.
In my experience, multiple induction motors on one controller are done in Volts per Hertz mode. Every output voltage has a corresponding frequency output. It gives you more than one motor`s output in vector mode, but less than a controller per motor.

To my knowledge (please - I`d love to be wrong on this one!) no one does sensored or sensorless vector control, Field Oriented Control, etc with more than one motor per controller.

Quote:
However, the Leaf is an Interior Permanent Magnet type AC motor, thus if I understand correctly it is a synchronous type and operates without "slip", and this complicates the process of trying to parallel two motors.
Actually, it`s worse than that. The control is like permanent magnet for low speed, and has more contribution from reluctance as the speed rises, so the angle that the current is driven changes with speed and with load (!!) Lots of calculations done by the controller to figure out what signal to send out for maximum torque.