View Single Post
Old 02-14-2018, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
mpg_numbers_guy
Master EcoModder

Toby - '13 Toyota Prius C
90 day: 64.01 mpg (US)

Daz - '15 Mazda 3 iTouring w/ Tech Package
90 day: 38.2 mpg (US)
Ecomodding an automatic '04 Civic Sedan

▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼▼
Note: Click here to go directly to the start of the actual modding build part. The rest is mostly dialogue about my car and asking questions related to ecomodding it.
▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲▲

------------------------------

Also as a side note, the 42+ mpg obtained in my introductory post below was on "longer" (30+ minute) trips. My current modding baseline prior to modding is 38 mpg due to most trips being 10 miles or less.

------------------------------

Hello all! Yes this is my first post, and yes I am new to Ecomodder.

I'm also a newer driver (newer is relative), and this '04 Honda Civic EX sedan is my first car. Yes, it is an automatic, don't hate me for it (my next car will probably be a manual though). Now if your area is anything like mine, most new drivers get lumbering SUVs or buy Civics to trash around. But being the nerd among my associates I decided to buy a Civic, keep it stock, and see what kind of MPGs I can get out of it.

Well at first it went well. When I bought it I knew the brakes needed to be changed, but drove around in it a little using basic hypermiling techniques and averaged 39 MPG - decent considering the new EPA combined estimate is 30 MPG (because no, this is not an HF or a VX, as I didn't want a coupe). Well after changing brakes my MPG went down to 25, kind of disappointing.

Looking at the problem revealed a bad brake caliper. The caliper was already bad, but somehow worked until it was remounted during the brake change.