View Single Post
Old 04-29-2020, 04:07 AM   #101 (permalink)
Xist
Not Doug

Chorizo - '00 Honda Civic HX, baby! :D
90 day: 35.35 mpg (US)

Mid-Life Crisis Fighter - '99 Honda Accord LX
90 day: 34.2 mpg (US)

Gramps - '04 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 35.39 mpg (US)

Don't hit me bro - '05 Toyota Camry LE
90 day: 29.44 mpg (US)
Thanked 2,217 Times in 1,708 Posts
College is fun. I am always glad that I earned my first degree, but I had $40,000 in student loans, and I insist that I could not use it.

I am a huge advocate of studying something that leads to a career and if you decide that you do not like it, unless you have better options elsewhere, at least use it long enough to pay off your loans before pursuing something else. If you have an actual skill you are more likely to be able to afford to pursue your dreams.

I used to always hear about out-of-state students that never got residency. Why pay ridiculous tuition for four times as long as necessary?

Graham Stephan always tells people to not go to college, but we will see how many realtors there still are in five or ten years.

People say that if you cannot afford 20% down then you cannot afford a house, but how will you ever afford a house if you can hardly save anything? Yes, there are many ways that things could go horribly wrong, but if you get a good inspection, and can get a mortgage comparable to what you were paying in rent, why wouldn't you?

I was wondering what the math would need to be to be safe with rental properties. I had thought that if you needed the rent from 8 to pay the mortgage for all 10 you should be safe, but since I cannot get a rule-of-thumb from anyone, I can only guess that a 10% profit margin would be reasonable, which isn't much of a safety net.

I have asked Kevin how many of his tenants have said they couldn't pay rent, but he hasn't answered. Someone claimed that Kevin was producing so many videos because he was broke, nobody was paying rent, and he needed the money.