View Single Post
Old 05-30-2020, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
JulianEdgar
Banned

Thanked 1,605 Times in 1,136 Posts
Attached flow on inclined rears, and trailing vortices

I've just spent a few hours immersed in my aero textbooks and SAE papers.

One of the things that Aerohead has said that I have found confusing, and thought probably misleading, is that (and I hope I paraphrase him correctly):

Attached flow, as indicated by tufts, on steeply inclined rear surfaces (eg the Porsche 911) is caused by the downwash of trailing vortices. Therefore, what you see as attached flow through tufting, isn't really attached flow.

I found that a bit odd, because on all the cars I have tufted (I've been tufting whole cars on the road since 1988), tuft patterns have always been really good indicators of what is actually happening. That is, I don't think I have ever seen something in a tuft pattern that didn't quite add up. The presence of trailing vortices, for example, can be indicated by diagonal tufts on angled pillars (front or back). Separated and attached flow have always been quite obvious.

The reason I went to my references was to explore this idea in more detail - that apparently attached tufts really aren't, if they're showing attachment on steeply inclined rear surfaces through the action of trailing vortices.

SAE 2011-01-1075 (Mayer, W. and Wickern, G., "The New Audi A6/A7 Family - Aerodynamic Development of Different Body Types on One Platform," SAE Int. J. Passeng. Cars – Mech. Syst. 4(1):197-206, SAE Technical paper 2011-01-0175, 2011) has a good description of the indicative trailing vortices associated with squareback, fastback and notchback shapes.