View Single Post
Old 11-13-2008, 02:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
bobstad
Art is the means whereby.

Wink Sorry; my bad!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funny View Post
...and had difficulty following the post.
Funny,

I've got an on-going difficulty expressing myself, where the conceptualizations as experienced via my thoughts, are translated into print in effort at communication with others.

I do this because of a feeling I'm interesting and worthy, and perhaps unusual.

As a writer, I'd been first mentored by world famous hobo journalist, writer, publisher and printer John Patric I worked part of the summer of '67 for when I was fifteen; around that time commenting of himself in his weekly single sheet newspaper THE SATURDAY EVENING FREE PRESS that "my sole ambition at the age of 68 is to become the world's greatest general nuisance."

More recently about ten years ago I discovered novelist and poet Malcolm Lowry and his posthumously published book OCTOBER FERRY TO GABRIOLA I fell in love with, the only book I've ever read so enjoyably I reread the whole thing all over again without putting it down I've done twice now.

This is a book where often a person has to resort to an unabridged dictionary six times in a single page, and where one chapter is a very long single sentence, but there is always a feeling of economy of expression rather than flaunting of vocabulary or other writing skills; which leaves me at least feeling very rewarded for my time spent.(Lowry's UNDER THE VOLCANO is considered universally as one of the 20th century's greatest novels, the very autobiographical book about the last day of a tragic alcoholic's life in Mexico where he is murdered at the end)