View Single Post
Old 12-24-2008, 01:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
rykoala
Wannabe Modder

Which vehicle for this mobile tech? (a bit long)

Hi everyone, I have a dilemma that I need help figuring out.

I am a mobile computer tech. I drive in the Reno NV area and there isn't a way out of this valley that doesn't have hills, and a fair bit of the area I do is around a lot of hills. I currently drive my 86 4x4 Suburban, its my only vehicle.

Come tax time I want to buy something cheap that gets a lot better mileage. At least my employer pays 50 cents per mile so I can afford to drive that truck, but I'd like to get 20+ or even 25+ if possible, as it would cut my fuel bill in half or better.

I'm considering late 70's early 80's imports. My biggest problem is that I have a somewhat bad back and getting in and out of cars is a real pain, no pun intended. I am also a big guy in the size department and 6'1". So for me, cars are almost out of the question. Our company vehicle, which I rarely get to drive is a Scion xB and it is comfortable to get in and out of, as are most 2wd mini trucks.

I am considering a 75-84 toyota pickup with a 4 or 5 speed, or even a 2wd Chevy K5 blazer if I can find one with a 4 speed and a straight 6 instead of a V8. I know I'd be lucky to top 20mpg with it, but it would be a compromise I could handle if I could get a steady 18mpg out of it, if possible. Regearing the rear end would be a possibility with numerically low gearing around 2.92 or 2.50.

Considerations of 70's/80's 2wd short bed trucks:
Datsun 720 or 620
Chevy Luv
Dodge (mitsubishi) D50
Toyota
Chevy K5 blazer w/ 6cyl
Ford Courier

anything I missed?

I had a 1982 720 pickup once, it was a 4wd that had been beated pretty hard and I considered that thing a pile of crap. I'm not inclined to get another one as the motors are a pain in the butt with the alternator tucked way under, and there being 8 sparks plugs and thus a more complicated distributor setup.