View Single Post
Old 04-20-2009, 03:59 PM   #1005 (permalink)
MPaulHolmes
PaulH

Michael's Electric Beetle - '71 Volkswagen Superbeetle 500000
Thanked 1,202 Times in 765 Posts
Eric: That would be hugely awesome getting you in on the programming. I'm not a professional programmer.

Roger:
That would be great, but I checked, and the mosfets and diodes are more expensive (even with the discount), and they don't carry the capacitors. Oh well! That was a great idea!

Wait, they are the ONLY place I've found that carry one of the new components that will allow us to have the contactor AND the pre-charge resistor completely handled without the human in the loop at all. The component is $6 each I think. I have 3 of them right now from them. I think we would need 2 per controller at this point.

Part Number: PVN012PBF
They are $5.88 each for 1-9. $4.71 for 10-99. That would be about $2 off per controller with the 15% discount, so not a HUGE savings, but better than nothing?

Alternatively, I've been eyeing the filter capacitors on digikey. They *only* have 186 left right now. To get a price of $1.52 each, we have to get 200 of them, which would be a savings to the kit purchaser of about $25, which is more significant. Also, they need to order more, and their lead times can cause problems! June 7th is the expected next shipment I think. That's probably fine, but I would like to do a couple practice controllers to try some different things. Ben's and maybe another couple.