Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Success Stories
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2013, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Big Blue Caravan - '12 Dodge Grand Caravan
90 day: 21.72 mpg (US)
2012 Dodge Grand Caravan +30mpg(imp)

Hey guys, Canadian here, this is going to be in metric.
Bear with with me, I am just learning the L/100kms system too.
So, 10 L/100kms = about 30mpg(imp) and I have been able to beat that consistantly on a 4300 kms trip (that I am not quite finished, couldn't wait to post).

I am a 52 yr old machinist, Ind mech, and electrical guy. I've converted vans to 4wd and hot rodded just about everything I have ever owned, including lawn mowers. So I bough a Caravan because I liked my 99 and it fits my needs as a truck, camper, sedan, trailer tow-er and has the highests fuelmileage in a big enough vehicle to do the job. Fuel mileage, like power is never good enough, so I am tinkering.

Up to now pretty much base-lining the van. Fuel mileage has slowly risen in the first 16,000kms and seems to be flat lining. Fuel mileage is highly variable, from 8 to 10 L/100kms on typical 100kph highway trip and can drop down to 7 L/100kms at 80kph. Michelin (snow tires!) have lower rolling resistance (coastdown test) than the Yokahama's, but I cannot see it in fuel mileage figures, probably less than 0.2 L/100kms.

On this trip I left Nova Scotia with a basically empty van and went slightly more than 700kms on just under 69L of fuel. Hooray just better than 10L/100kms! But I had to do on average 90kph (55mph) to accomplish it, slowing down to 80kph on hills and up to 110kph on downhills. Pulse and Glide does not work at all with van, as does neutral coast because it shuts fuel off on coast. I maintain constant throttle on hills and gain and lose to see indcated fuel mileage at 8 to 9 L/100kms. Gave about 750 kms to a tank.