EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   1987 Ford F250 - 25mpg hwy or bust (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/1987-ford-f250-25mpg-hwy-bust-26816.html)

6 Speed 08-29-2013 05:19 AM

1987 Ford F250 - 25mpg hwy or bust

Ok, so my night is boring enough I'll just start this now instead of waiting to have it running again (starter took a dive).

As I said in my intro thread, I a mechanic by trade, and I just stepped up to this from a 98 Ranger (28mpg hwy @ 70mph fully loaded). From a business standpoint, I'll be able to offer more to my customers, in the form of hauling more tools with me, more supplies, and with the larger truck, I can also offer hauling services such as pulling boats out of the lake or transporting vehicles or trailers. From an economy standpoint, my wallet is still screaming rape. The previous owner of this truck claims an 18mpg hwy rating, and I get the impression he drives like I do, so that's not too shabby a number for a truck that came off the scales at 6100lbs with me and my tools loaded up.

Ok, here's what I'm working with. Here's the truck, and a sampler of my typical daily load (everything that stays on the truck). This isn't everything, but it gets the point across.
http://i.imgur.com/IisuvVi.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/yqy6n5p.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/ojA2CLD.jpg

Ok, so that's the starting point. One big ass truck (compared to my Ranger), with a big ol' motor (6.9L of diesel snorting cast iron), and the aerodynamics of a chiseled brick. WOOHOO!! Now I've seen the thread talking about using a trailer vs a bigger vehicle. I do have a trailer, and while I could have setup everything upon that, I would then have had to take it with me on EVERY service call, rather than just the few that might require me to bring the customer equipment back to the shop. That would have dragged down my mileage in a worse fashion.