Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Luster

Lucille - '97 Geo Metro
Geo Metro 97 CV axle help needed.

I'm fairly new to fixing my own car. I bought this Geo with the intention of teaching myself. Please forgive a rookie mistake.

I bought the CV axle replacement, it was a rebuild. Looked online and read/watched video on how to replace it. Bought the tools, took the old one out and put the new one in. The original nut didn't fit, made me nervous. I road down the block and it made a scraping noise (which was only a brass collar scraping on the axle near the wheel - it sounded like the brake was jarred out of alignment is all), so I parked it. As I was backing in to my parking spot all the transmission fluid came out.

I had the right box, with the wrong part in it. I now have the right part (for the left side, not the right). The problem is, it won't seat into the transmission crank case. Looking into the hole, there seems to be a brass rod horizontally across the inside blocking my CV joint from going back in.

How screwed am I?

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 08-26-2009, 09:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hi-Tech Redneck

Send a message via AIM to Johnny Mullet Send a message via MSN to Johnny Mullet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hairechest View Post
The original nut didn't fit, made me nervous.