EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Hypermiling / EcoDriver's Ed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/hypermiling-ecodrivers-ed.html)
-   -   Is accelerating down hills fuel efficient? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/accelerating-down-hills-fuel-efficient-35745.html)

EcoCivic 10-15-2017 10:54 AM

Is accelerating down hills fuel efficient?

I have always accelerated when going down hills to maximize the effect of gravity, but I wonder if I am doing the right thing for mileage now. What do you Ecomodding pros do on hills? Thanks, I am pretty new to hypermiling.

JockoT 10-15-2017 11:28 AM

If there is a climb ahead I will gently accelerate down a hill, to build up some momentum for the climb ahead. A bit of light throttle there, uses a lot less fuel than starting the hill at a lower speed and having to burn fuel to get up it.
If there is no climb ahead I would probably coast down the hill, or take advantage of DFCO. The last thing you want to do is accelerate down the hill, then have to brake because of a bend or other hazard to be negotiated.

slowmover 10-15-2017 01:08 PM

With my four-ton pickup (and more so with 35' travel trailer in tow) I enter a highway with the intention of of using terrain to help the last 10-15/mph up to set cruising speed.

That is, I'll accelerate up past the 45-mph legal minimum, but I wish to use any sort of downgrade to get it up to the usual 59-mph and set the cruise control.

Terrain and traffic don't always cooperate in this, but it does lessen the engine load when those other factors allow for it.

I prefer that commercial traffic be a quarter-mile back, and cars less so.

Alternately,

One uses the brakes, not the throttle, to merge onto an Interstate. Ideally one is at or above the legal maximum well before the end of the ramp (most entrances are downhill for this reason). In this use of a downgrade the penalty is minimal compared to the safety advantage.