EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   Alt kill switch planning (help) (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/alt-kill-switch-planning-help-19812.html)

California98Civic 12-17-2011 01:42 PM

Alt kill switch planning (help)

1 Attachment(s)
I have been running without my alternator for a couple months. I just disconnect it, wrap the ends against water, and go. If I run too far or too low, I go through the slight pain of popping the hood and reconnecting. I want to plan and install a kill switch. I need help.

Where can I cut in for the splice for the switch without damaging the alternator? And can I do it at the fuse box inside the cabin? That would be much easier in terms of routing, but I doubt it is effective and safe for the alternator. Thoughts?

Here is, I think, the appropriate wiring diagram from the Honda Service Manual. I have checked all the wires and the color-coding matches. The wht wire is a heavy lone wire and the four others are bundled into a 4P connector [EDIT: The ECM/PCM ("ECU") is in the cabin]:

http://ecomodder.com/forum/attachmen...3&d=1324146991

I am aware of Daox's mod, but I am uncertain of what line into the cabin I might safely use on my civic. The wht/red line from the 4P connector seems like a candidate.

California98Civic 12-17-2011 04:43 PM

Bump (with more information). As I study this today, I have gained a bit more information. In the diagram above the "wht/grn" wire leading from the voltage regulator is the ALTC ("Alternator Control") wire that leads to pin A19 in the ECU. The service manual says it "sends alternator control signal" from the ECU. The "wht/red" wire is the ALTF ("Alternator FR Signal") wire. The manual says it "detects the alternator FR signal." I do not (yet) know the difference. Anyone help? Which line, if either, do I cut into for my kill switch?

brucepick 12-17-2011 06:00 PM

For what it's worth -