EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   General Efficiency Discussion (https://ecomodder.com/forum/general-efficiency-discussion.html)
-   -   Basic MPG info (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/basic-mpg-info-39528.html)

Charlie Cheap 06-27-2021 09:19 AM

Basic MPG info

We sometimes get too involved with "magic" answers to better MPG, but the basics can be improved. I am a retired ASE mechanic who ran a city fleet for over a decade, I built cars ground-up for over 50 years, and studies the internal combustion engine for half a century. The minimum fuel necessary to achieve the speed desired, the best spark available to fire the mixture, and matching the transmission, rear gears, and tire size with minimum weight plus keeping aerodynamics in mind, will give excellent MPG. Driving habits...using proper grade gasoline, building the engine for Torque rather than Horsepower, and driving for best economy by not pushing your right foot to the floor, and MPG will improve. No MAGIC just common sense.

California98Civic 06-27-2021 11:33 AM

You are one of us: a hypermiler by nature... and one who has built the training and experience. What are you driving these days? What sort of fuel economy are you getting from it? Any mods?

cRiPpLe_rOoStEr 06-27-2021 07:39 PM

You know, most people are not so willing to compromise anything for the sake of fuel savings, then many become quite influenced toward a higher-complexity setup which could overcome their lack of interest to improve their driving skills.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Charlie Cheap (Post 651452)
building the engine for Torque rather than Horsepower

That's why I became more interested about Diesel engines since my teenage years.

Charlie Cheap 06-27-2021 11:49 PM

Basic MPG