Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2023, 12:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Amateur radio antennas

I'm building up a Prius V as a camper and working on aerodynamic wheel covers, fender skirts, and a boat tail. I'm also a ham radio operator and plan to have a couple of radios in there both for on the road use and also as a temperature sensor / transmitter for keeping tabs on the temperature inside since my dogs will often be staying in the car with the air conditioning on.
Where do radio antennas fit into aerodynamics? I'm looking at at least one 8 and 1/2 ft whip and two more traditional 2 m antennas about 48 in long.
I've seen some other hams on here, have any of you all paid any attention to the aerodynamics of your antennas or have you just accepted that loss as part of the cost of the hobby? Do you know what kind of things can be done to antennas to make them more aerodynamic? Not so much concerned about the whip part as the junction with the body

Last edited by ai4kk; 04-30-2023 at 01:25 PM..
The Following User Says Thank You to ai4kk For This Useful Post:
aerohead (05-01-2023)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 04-30-2023, 12:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Thinking about this a little more and thinking maybe the answer is to use foam and fiberglass to sculpt leading and trailing edge fairings for all antenna mounts to make them more airfoil-shaped instead of just a big ball sticking out the side of the car
The Following User Says Thank You to ai4kk For This Useful Post:
aerohead (05-01-2023)
Old 04-30-2023, 02:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Thanked 8,575 Times in 7,061 Posts
Quote:
...instead of just a big ball sticking out the side of the car.