EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   DIY / How-to (https://ecomodder.com/forum/diy-how.html)
-   -   DIY - Learn how to Weld...Basic Steps and Equipment Needed (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/diy-learn-how-weld-basic-steps-equipment-needed-993.html)

XFi 02-11-2008 04:52 PM

DIY - Learn how to Weld...Basic Steps and Equipment Needed

Well, spring is fast approaching and I have many ecomodding suggestions and ideas floating around in my head. Many of these modifications include me either paying to have someone do the work, or learing how to do it myself. Being cheap and stubborn, I guess I need to learn how to do it myself.:p

Coyote X has inspired me to learn how to weld. After seeing his awesome build thread...http://forum.ecomodder.com/showthread.php?t=491...I have decided that I need to LEARN HOW TO WELD! :thumbup:. The UnNamed Wagon will be a perfect test subject!

Since I have no experience in regards to this, I thought I would start a thread and ask for some help! :o Hopefully we will learn a few things (and purchase the right equipment) that will help support our EcoModding habits!
My first step is to read up on the subject. I have this book coming from Amazon...http://www.imageno.com/thumbs/20080211/gl4essz0luvw.jpghttp://www.amazon.com/Welders-Handbook-RevisedHP1513-Cutting-Oxyacetylene/dp/1557885133/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1202764730&sr= 8-1
...I hope it is informative.

Please feel free to post in this thread if you have any cutting, welding, bending or other forms of metal fabrication experience/knowledge that you can share with the class.;) Hopefully the members with welding experience can give us some basic suggestions on equipment needed/preferred in regards to welding. What equipment are you using or would suggest to use? Point us in the right direction!

Daox 02-11-2008 05:14 PM