EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Success Stories (https://ecomodder.com/forum/success-stories.html)
-   -   F-250 7.3 4wd Light AeroCap (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/f-250-7-3-4wd-light-aerocap-12573.html)

Bajascoob 03-10-2010 12:03 PM

F-250 7.3 4wd Light AeroCap

Did my initial structure/mpg test on my light weight aero cap made of EMT conduit and 4mil plastic sheeting. No significant flapping and cursory +3 MPG on scan guage.

http://ecomodder.com/forum/attachmen...p;d=1268270122

More photos below.

mjboks 03-10-2010 12:57 PM

Want Pictures!

:thumbup:

Bajascoob 03-10-2010 03:17 PM

Do I put them here or another thread, relative noob here. I took build up shots. And have vid of the test.

mjboks 03-10-2010 03:20 PM

This thread if fine if you don't have another build thread.

Bajascoob 03-10-2010 08:16 PM

Light Weight AeroCap F-250

3 Attachment(s)
Near Final result

Bajascoob 03-10-2010 08:37 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zw4qWhcqFdo

stockrex 03-14-2010 06:27 PM

bajascoob, great work, looks nice and you see out of it,
3 mpg, wow that is wonderful
pls share how you constructed it, any pic of the inside.

where in omaha are you in? my cuz is in 112th and center, I went to unl

Bajascoob 03-22-2010 10:43 PM

14 Attachment(s)
materials
7 lengths 1/2" emt conduit
1 -1/2 coupler (1/2")
2 - 1/2 conduit 90* elbows
5- 1/2 emt hold down brackets
desired hardeware (1/4" nut and bolts)
bag of 3/4" hose clamps
8- 1/2" L brackets
4mil plastic sheeting (paint dep), 6mil would be better but only came in 100ft lengths
roll packing tape
2 rolls transparent duct tape
6- 1/2" wrap around foam insulation sleeves (comes in 3ft lengths?)

tools
conduit bender
nut driver(to fit hose clamps)
screwdriver
welder(optional)
scissors

Bend B pillar arch..(tip-bend one side, measure to center cab, mark center cab length on arch, trace half arch on floor, flip emt, align mark, bend to match trace)