EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   Hello! (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/hello-29294.html)

EcoSuperDuty?? 06-20-2014 06:18 PM

Hello!

Hey Everybody :) Been a big fan of this site for a while now and as I am moving soon and will have a 40 mile round trip to and from work instead of a 6 mile round trip lol figured I would join in and see what I can do for some mpg :)

I have no tools, no experience and no desire to drill holes into my truck lol I'm not going to go nearly as far as any of you but a few extra mpgs will help me get my transport costs in budget. Thinking of making a tonneau cover out of plywood, adding a partial grill blocker and maybe a lowering kit, but I don't want anything that will mess with suspension linkages or anything else. So pretty much cheap and easy mods for now :)

I have a 2000 F-250 Supercab Superduty 7.3 turbo diesel, short bed, 2 wheel drive, automatic, previous owner did a bunch of deletes added a bigger turbo and exhaust which means it actually gets pretty decent mileage already. Right now I'm recording about 20mpg on average per fill up and am hoping after I move, as it is all highway to get 25mpg at least.

Think that covers my intro, so look forward to hearing from everyone :)

Daox 06-20-2014 06:43 PM

If you're looking to save money, buying a beater car is the way to go. You can spend $1500 and the car will pay for itself in a year. Its hard to beat that anyway you look at it.

EcoSuperDuty?? 06-20-2014 06:51 PM

Not really, the cost of the extra insurance and the space taken up would just not make it worth it.

Daox 06-20-2014 06:57 PM