Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2012, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

spyder2 - '00 Toyota MR2 Spyder
hello!

Hi guys,
I'm a student at UC Berkeley, studying math. Fun stuff, not calculus :P
I don't have a car or anything, but mechanical engineering has always been a side interest of mine. As far as physics/engineering goes for me, I tend to find it incredibly boring when details are concerned, but reading about concepts and stuff is very interesting to me. Ironically physics tends to "make sense" to me really fast while math is a bit tougher in that respect, but I guess I like the challenge.

Anyways I'm a control freak/efficiency monger, and cars are probably the single largest waste of useful fuel energy in Western nations, so naturally this place got my attention. I've been on ft86club for some time, where the topics I tend to talk about are aerodynamics and engine tech because that's all I really know about :P I think it'll probably be the first car I buy, assuming I don't end up on the streets starving.

So being a math person, I love simple, and I hate computation, optimization, tedious work, and experimentation. This is perfect for ecomodding cars, because a car is extremely difficult to make significant changes to, so I can just stick to simple mods that don't need much to verify that they work.