Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Instrumentation
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2009, 03:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ecomoddling Trooper

WhiteHonda - '93 Honda Accord 10th special
Arrow YAG --- Yet Another Gauge DIY project

I am an embedded engineer with a passion for both Honda Automobiles, and their associated electrical/electronic components. (maybe a little too much time on my hands) Like other people (here on this site), I dislike the idea of wasting certain non-renewable commodities. Moreover, I have long believed that while we wait for a better day in terms of personal automobile use, our most important contribution to the planet is in squeezing every possible ounce of energy from the fuel we already have--- and use.

Last summer, I took a drive to a spot in Vermont that I enjoy. As I was driving, I started to think about the possibly of building a custom device that could monitor engine vehicle performance while providing me with near real-time display/information on fuel usage. We have two Accords: a 2005 and a 1993. You will soon figure out which one is mine.

When I got back from my trip, I started right in looking at the injector signals with my scope. I was soon able to build the first device prototype using a Microchip 16F series processor ,and some other circuitry. Because of the need to level shift the vehicle’s signals to logic levels, I built a suitable front end interface for the 1993 Accord saturated fuel injectors, and that vehicle’s speed sensor input. To make it all work, I used a popular IDE and C compiler designed for this processor family. The embedded program’s primary task was to measure injector pulse and period width and compute duty cycle. The other important task was to count the number of vehicle speed senor pulses that occurred during a fixed period of time and compute feet traveled. With this information, the device could compute MPH,RPM, GPH, and MPG.