EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Motorcycles / Scooters (https://ecomodder.com/forum/motorcycles-scooters.html)
-   -   Introduction & Cross wind solutions to motorcycle Streamliners? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/introduction-cross-wind-solutions-motorcycle-streamliners-28298.html)

Teri_TX 02-26-2014 08:24 PM

Introduction & Cross wind solutions to motorcycle Streamliners?

Hi everyone,

I recently joined and have been lurking a while before making a fool of myself by posting :-)

I stumbled on to this site via a stumble on to Craig Vetter's site after stumbling on another site ... I forget what I was orginally looking for. That's the beauty of serendipity! Anyway, I'm a retired engineer (mechanical and electrical) with even more time now to ponder things. I have never had a motorcycle or ridden one (except once on my brother's dirt bike many moons ago) but I'm considering one (Honda CBR250R is my current choice) for high FE so I can putter around and explore the countryside. Having weather protection would extend the utility of the motorcycle instead of just being a joy riding toy.

Allert Jacob's velomobile is probably the most documented successful and beautiful aero bodied motorcycle/scooter (sorry Craig Vetter !) to date (in my opinion). He reports that side winds have minimal effects on the handling and this is without a long tail. After reading about many of the other similar projects I started wondering why his aeroshell is least affected by side winds.

Others have mentioned in passing that the side forces from side winds is from the lateral lift forces after a vector analysis of the apparent wind direction. This got to me to thinking of why and how minimize the lateral forces. Craig Vetter's "last Vetter Streamliner" had door fairing temporarily until he decided the side gusts were too much with them. He is also a veteran motorcyclist and probably prefers the open feeling of not having door fairings anyway.