EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   Kill switch electrical questions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/kill-switch-electrical-questions-22602.html)

Vman455 07-15-2012 07:12 PM

Kill switch electrical questions

Disclaimer: I am not an electrician! Which is why I'm having trouble figuring out just how to go about installing a fuel injector kill switch on a 7th gen Civic. First, the schematic:

http://i1047.photobucket.com/albums/...hschematic.jpg

Unlike the 5th and 6th gen cars, it seems my 2005 has two FI relays (each marked "main," confusingly)--Relay 2 grounds through the fuel pump, and Relay 1 through the ECM? So, do I have to cut both of them or just one? Would cutting the ground from Relay 2 cause fuel pump issues when trying to start the car again? Would cutting the ground on just one relay even shut down all the injectors in the first place?

SentraSE-R 07-15-2012 07:37 PM

IMHO, don't cut power to the fuel pump. Cut power to the common hot wire to the fuel injectors.

2000mc 07-15-2012 07:42 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vman455 (Post 317223)
Relay 2 grounds through the fuel pump, and Relay 1 through the ECM? control circuit of both are grounded/switched by the ecm So, do I have to cut both of them or just one? Would cutting the ground from Relay 2 cause fuel pump issues when trying to start the car again? just cutting power to the fuel pump wont immediately kill the engine, residual pressure in the fuel system will allow the engine to keep running for a short time, longer when you're just coasting Would cutting the ground on just one relay even shut down all the injectors in the first place?cutting power to relay 1 would shut down the injectors, along with several other things in, and beyond what is shown in the provided diagram