EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   OpenGauge / MPGuino FE computer (https://ecomodder.com/forum/opengauge-mpguino-fe-computer.html)
-   -   MPGuino with large screen? (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/mpguino-large-screen-6226.html)

Nevyn 11-30-2008 08:10 AM

MPGuino with large screen?

I know the standard size is a 16x2 LCD, and that's great. Would it be easy to just swap to something like a 20x4 LCD, without any major software rewrite on my part, or would it take a lot of changes?

Secondly, would it be possible to use the "Big Number" instant MPG readout on a second "remote display?" I'd love to have my screen up front, and a BIG one in the back window that other drivers could see. Even if it was just a clone of whatever was being displayed for the driver it would be neat.

I'm not the best code monkey out there (I'm a computer/electronics hardware technician, not a programmer), but I have a little bit of coding experience and I'm not afraid to get dirty.

Thanks for any insight you can provide!:cool::cool: I'm hoping to be able to get to 35 MPG with this beast....:thumbup:

cmags 12-13-2008 08:51 AM

I think its been mentioned that the best way to have two screens populating data on these things is to build two and tie them to the same inputs. ;)

In theory, with one more pin to switch power between the two LCDs, or the enable, you could add code to send one screen full of data with the enable on for one LCD, then another screen with the other enable on. The LCD holds its data displayed until another enable pulse goes in so while updating one, the other wouldn't change display. I dunno if there's enough codespace left for that though.

i_am_socket 12-13-2008 09:01 AM

The newest version of the code already has serial output for remote displays or attachment to other devices, so it should be relatively easy to do.

Relative to what, I couldn't tell you ;)

Nevyn 12-15-2008 09:36 AM

Quote: