EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   My introduction, and plans (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/my-introduction-plans-690.html)

hondaworkshop 01-17-2008 12:09 PM

My introduction, and plans

Hi I'm David,

I'm pretty active in the Honda community online for years now. I have been autocrossing since 2003, and my current autox car is a 91 CRX Si modded for STS2 competition. It still gets mid 30mpg mileage which is fine since I really only use is a couple times a month for competitions.

The car I drive the most is a 2000 Honda Civic Hatchback. Its automatic, and basically stock motor-wise. My commute to and from work is mostly highway, totaling 74 miles a day. So you can see how I'd quickly become interested in maximizing my fuel economy.

My GOAL is to get as close to 40mpg out of the civic as possible, meaning I can go a full week between fill ups.

So far I have done the following steps to get from 30 up to 34mpg:
1.) Modified my driving habits. Though I cannot be a pokey driver on busy 70mph highways, I do not speed, and I draft whenever I can. I also never take off too quickly.

2.) Slightly taller than stock tires. The diameter of my current tires are about .5" taller than stock...effectively raising my gearing.

3.) Added a factory front spoiler from and Si model...it looks great, anyways.

4.) Removed the 50lb subwoofer box... I dont miss it at all.

5.) Well-inflated tires.
My plans to continue increasing FE are as follows, along with questions:

1.) Remove factory mud guards. The car gets quite filthy without the front ones...so I'd like to avoid losing those if there is a way to.

2.) Partial grill block off...Is it better to block off the top small grill or some of the larger bottom one?

3.) Remove power steering belt.