Go Back   EcoModder Forum > Introductions
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2011, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

The Ninja - '91 Mazda 323 SE
New Guy on the block

Hi, I'm somewhat new to the Eco-minded community, so I have a few questions. I have a 1991 Mazda 323 SE (hatchback) that I've driven for a year now; it's got a 1.6L 5-speed. It's all stock expect for an K&N repalcement filter and E3 spark plugs with 148,000 miles and weighs about 2500 lbs with me, spare tire, tool box and half fuel tank (used grain elevator scale). During the summer, I averaged 40 mpg and topped at 43 with it. I have Autometer gauges, tach, oil pressure, and voltmeter to monitor the engine (since the dash only has speedo, gas level, and water temp). I plan to buy a vacuum gauge to add to the cluster, do minor exterior modifications (such as partial boat-tail, front air dam, and rear tire covers; anything else?), weight reduction (rear seat and some interior trim) and a hot-air intake. Is there anybody out there who has done that to a 323?

Ok, now that the background is done.

I am running one size bigger tires on it; 185/70/13 vs. 175/70/13 (used to have a '86 Prelude, bought new tires, then died). I figured out that they are 2% bigger, so I think that they help with effiecency since I do a lot of highway driving (I add 2% of the miles to compensate). With your experiences, does this actually help?