EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   Introductions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/introductions.html)
-   -   New member working on a vintage class C RV (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/new-member-working-vintage-class-c-rv-34511.html)

autoarcheologist 11-07-2016 12:54 AM

New member working on a vintage class C RV

Hello,

I have been lurking here for years and silently cheering on everybody who's working to get better F.E. out of their rides, and I finally have a project worthy of tackling.

It's a 1980 American Clipper 21' Class C RV. Super cool, a one family owned timewarp. The plan is to make it reliable and fun, and make some modifications along the way to help improve it's efficiency.

I have amazing records from the first owner of nearly every fillup which average out to 7.5 MPG over 76,000 miles. He never did anything to improve the FE other than trying to keep it in good shape.

As for me, I'm a lapsed Engineer, and was on the first Super Mileage Vehicle team at UC Berkeley back in 1992. I think we were averaging around 3000 MPG before we broke due to lack of testing. The team the next year finished and put in a respectable result if I remember correctly.

I'll get a build thread started soon, but thought I'd introduce myself first.

Thanks!
Ian

Fat Charlie 11-07-2016 07:47 AM

I'm glad you signed up.

Wow, you've got a lot to overcome there:
http://www.americanclipperownersclub...eds/parker.jpg

I'd probably start with fairing the top with coroplast and doing as much of an aero tail as is practical:

http://gajitz.com/wp-content/uploads...ilertail-1.jpg

On the plus side, every smidgen you gain is a huge percentage gain!

elhigh 11-07-2016 08:28 AM

Holy COW. Now...THAT is an uphill battle.