EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   Newbie pitch (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/newbie-pitch-6144.html)

theunchosen 11-24-2008 12:26 AM

Newbie pitch

So I am new to the eco-modding forums, and I have a pitch.

Essentially The largest problem with ICE is that 60% of your converted power leaves the engine unused. Actually, this is the problem with all engines, you lose power somewhere you don't mean to. Unfortunately there is no beautiful mechanical method to scavenge this heat energy that goes out the tailpipe and off the engine block, otherwise we would probably have it OEM.

This is where the hybrids come in. Hybrids are more efficient because they are capable of reclaiming energy in places that ICE cannot. For instance there is virtually no way to reclaim power out of braking in an ICE, but hybrids can do it just fine. Ultimately hybrids are more efficient because they are designed with less aggressive engines and fuel maps to conserve fuel rather ego. Also mechanisms for turbocompounding are not very effective because of complicated gearing that must go into connecting a turbine from the exhaust to the drive shaft.

A possible solution exists, not that its good or feasible, but its there. An old engine given a new chassis and guts has become the hottest new toy in commercial energy production, The Stirling. Stirling Energy Systems(SES <http://www.stirlingenergy.com/>) has manufactured a stirling engine that comes close to its ideal max. You can look at their system but in the short they take 700 degrees from focused sunlight and produce electricity through the stirling engine.