EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   Newbie questions (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/newbie-questions-12151.html)

ChillyBear 02-03-2010 05:47 PM

Newbie questions

Well Im new to the whole eco tuning, and im weaning off of performance tuning. I just bought a ford focus 2.0l zetech with a 5 speed. I bought this car because the engine has solid lifters so I can really lug it around at low rpms. Now im not hardcore about mileage, I still go full throttle on a regular basis BUT I drive to hours each way for my weekend commute and I will be driving 80 miles per day to school next year.

Here's my question- do cold air intakes really improve my mileage? And what about a less restrictive exhaust or headers? Basically, I want to mod my car in a way that won't effect the looks or hurt performance (if it makes it faster thats fine by me, but give me a 10-15% increase in mileage. My first mod will be a block heater.

Also, what do you guys think of those pulse plugs? (the spark plugs with capacitors) they run $50 a piece, so if they are a scam I would like to know lol.

Bicycle Bob 02-03-2010 06:48 PM

Cold air intakes hurt mileage, if anything. Intake restriction does not matter at part throttle. Backpressure does hurt economy, but if your system does not choke at full power, it is probably fine in the economy range. There's a pulse plug thread around here somewhere, and lots of other good advice about how to drive for economy. Welcome to the lighter side of life.

cfg83 02-03-2010 06:57 PM

ChillyBear -

Welcome to EM! I agree with Bob. Here is info on the pulse plugs :

http://ecomodder.com/forum/showthrea...work-4020.html (no)

I sent a set to another Saturn S-Series owner, and they *fell apart* on him in less than a mile.

CarloSW2

El Duende 02-03-2010 08:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bicycle Bob (Post 158861)