Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2023, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Boattail camper for Prius V

I've got a 2013 Prius V that I've been making into a mini camper for my dogs and I. I'm a travel nurse so I tend to make long cross country drives with lots of local driving and exploring around an area while I'm assigned there.
Usually it's just me and my dogs in my Prius and there's enough room for me to stretch out next to their crate so we can all enjoy the AC or heat while we sleep, but my partner plans to be joining me soon and we've been figuring out ways to fit us and the dogs in like for our upcoming cross country trip from Florida to Washington.
For this trip we're just taking the tailveil hatchback tent and sleeping in that with the dogs in the car.
I was reading an article the other day about a guy with a Metro who put a boat tail on it and the author of the article made a comment wondering if somebody had added a bed onto their car and it hit me that maybe that's the answer...an aerodynamic boat tail that will pick up some miles per gallon on what is probably the worst aerodynamic part of the Prius v (the big square ass-end) and give me enough room to put a full size mattress in the boat tail and the dogs can have the car. I already have a 2-in receiver and cargo platform so that could be the structural start of the bed and then the rest could be built around it with foam and fiberglass, maybe even use the top part of the hatch and hinges to hinge the top part of the boattail like a clamshell.
Has anyone ever seen something like this done before? It just seems like a perfect solution both for enhanced mileage and more space. I've seen boattails done as hitch boxes to carry more stuff in but never as a camper

Last edited by ai4kk; 04-12-2023 at 11:59 PM..
The Following User Says Thank You to ai4kk For This Useful Post: