EcoModder.com

EcoModder.com (https://ecomodder.com/forum/)
-   EcoModding Central (https://ecomodder.com/forum/ecomodding-central.html)
-   -   spring project (https://ecomodder.com/forum/showthread.php/spring-project-24064.html)

craiger1223 11-22-2012 07:42 AM

spring project

Ok, so I'm new to not only this site, but to ecomodding as well. Happened upon this site and am increasingly interested. Here's my question to all of you that aren't new to this: If you had $3,500 for a 1st time project, what would you suggest I choose. I'm recently retired so time is not a factor. I'm reasonably handy with tools and welding. Our present vehicles are old and paid for, so that at end of project, I would sell present pickup to recoup $ invested in project. I live in wyoming where a foot of snow/ice on city street during winter is the norm until the street crews get to it. Need it to travel 20 miles at most, 8 miles the norm, and occasionaly make trip to land fill, so pickup or car & hitch/trailer is a prerequisite. I'm leaning toward gas or electric or hybrid but not diesel. seeting for two medium sized arthritic grandparents. Would do all labor myself and don't care if end result is odd looking. comfort in getting in and driving it is a 7 out of 10 requirement. might spend a little more in end for paint job if neccesary. suggestions???

AndrzejM 11-22-2012 08:21 AM

First of all, welcome to the site. I wish I could help you with your project, but I'm from Poland and that's a slightly different world, so my best choices would be different from yours. Anyway, you're talking of snow and ice, so maybe something with 4x4 drivetrain? Subaru maybe? These are light (for a 4x4 car), strong and reliable cars.

nemo 11-22-2012 08:29 AM

Welcome. Time and money for a project, I'm envious. Bet you even have space to do it. Don't worry about the snow you are retired just stay home and wait until they clear the roads. :D