Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > General Efficiency Discussion
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2008, 09:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Battery Ponderings

Hey all..

I work at an aircraft company, and recently we have done some R&D into using Li-Ion for ships battery, and it has had some really nice results.

I am not an engineer myself, so I do not know any of the specifics of this sort of design, but has anyone heard of using this type of cell to replace the heavy lead acid ones?

The hardest part to come up with might be a charging system. The battery would be pretty expensive initially, and might even have to be built up.. but the weight savings and inherent high energy would be a nice benefit.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 08-21-2008, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Legend in my own mind

Evil Pumpkin - '08 Scion xD RS 1.0 #1633
90 day: 35.45 mpg (US)

Silent Silver Killer - '10 Honda Insight EX
90 day: 51.5 mpg (US)
I am sure many will chime in behind me, but the Li-Ion batteries I believe are the latest advance in battery technology. So I would think you're heading in the right direction. But as stated I am sure others will be chiming in soon with relevant facts.

I am a precisional instrument of speed and aeromatics
If your knees bent in the opposite direction......what would a chair look like???

Old 08-22-2008, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Wicked Wanda - '99 VW Beetle GLS
90 day: 29.59 mpg (US)

Green Monster - '99 Ford Explorer Sport
90 day: 16.73 mpg (US)

Dad's Taxi - '99 Honda Odyssey EX
90 day: 24.23 mpg (US)
Li-ion have several advantages over lead-acid or even NiHM. They are very adaptable to shape and are much lighter. They don't suffer from battery "memory" and have an extremely low self-discharge rate.