Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Off-Topic Tech
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-24-2009, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Buying a second hand car........advice?

Hi Friends.

Some nice fellow has recently plowed into the back of my car while i was waiting at a red light. His car was a nice big SUV. My car, while functioning perfectly, is now considered a writeoff which is quite irritating.

As a result im starting to think about buying a new (well, second hand) car. I probably have a budget of 5g's which i know aint much, but yeah, quite poor atm. A mid 90s corolla is what comes to mind at the moment. The problem is, im not really experienced in this area as my last car was bought off a family friend.

Any of you guys ever gone private? Used car dealerships? Other? Had any luck with private? What things have you done to ensure the car aint going to fall apart? Yeah pretty much screwed without a car so i need to get the ball rolling on this kinda soon. Any help is very much appreciated.

Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 10-24-2009, 06:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Left Lane Ecodriver

Prius C - '12 Toyota Prius C
I see you're in the UK. I don't know anything about the used car market there, but five of your kilo-pounds is $8200USD, which is enough to buy a very nice, low-mileage, one-owner economy car here.

The last car I bought? I bought it out of a junkyard, on e-bay, sight unseen and in non-roadworthy condition. The price was right, so I took a chance.

My other car is still reliable enough at 13 years / 159000 mi, and that's pretty typical of a well-made car. All I can say is, never buy a car with a check engine light on, have a mechanic do an inspection before you buy, get exactly the car you want because you're going to have it a long time, and you'll do fine.
Old 10-24-2009, 10:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
aero guerrilla

Svietlana II - '13 Peugeot 308SW e-HDI 6sp