Thread: 61 Old car nut
View Single Post
Old 10-06-2009, 05:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
racprops
Master EcoModder

61 Old car nut

I have had an interest in all thing mechanical and electronic almost my whole like.

I was more of less self taught when I had to learn how to repair my Honda 50 at the age of 15, I then moved on to fixing a 1956 Studebaker Golden Hawk (and yes I do wish I still had it AND the two I used for parts and all the other great old cars I went thought…darn darn..if I only knew…)

So I have fixed, customized and modified my own cars all my life, my friends say I “Coylelise” everything..like putting a OLDS 350 into a Chevy Van, or swapping out turbos 350s and 400s for 200R4s , in a 79 Camaro and getting 19 MPG with it and a 70 Caddy Servile and getting no improvement with it’s cranky old analog FI.

I have been trained in A/C Service and worked for two years in that fields and then got trained in TV service and repair. I did both white (appliances) and Brown Goods (TV and Stereos) for a few years.

Then I stumbled into the Science Fiction/Star Trek conventions when I saw a ad for a Star Trek Con here in Phoenix back in 1977 at the first day screening of Star Wars, and at that con found there was a way to pay for going to cons selling ray guns and started doing that for a couple years while still running a fading away TV sales and repair shop in Mesa AZ.

At a con I was recruited into doing props for a Prop Rental Shop called Modern Props.

IT Seems there were very few people that could do electronics, (Winky Blinkies so called)..so I enjoyed a 14 year run doing movie and TV Props in Hollywood. And have been making recreations in-between real jobs all along and that is what I have been doing the whole time so I have now logged in 30 years of props making and it too is fading away ..