View Single Post
Old 08-15-2010, 01:20 PM   #58 (permalink)
Dr. Jerryrigger
EcoModding Apprentice

The Sh*t-Box - '99 Subaru Impreza Outback Sport
90 day: 27.81 mpg (US)
Okay, so I have some knowledge of this stuff, I guess I did learn something useful at art school...

First off you need to asses the part you want. If your filling in a fog light for example, you will have better results from a mold than from filling it into the car, as the mold can be horizontal. This stuff is effected by gravity, to get around that you need to set up some cardboard so when it expands it will only be able to go up, i.e. make the hole your filling into something that would hold water up to the top (but it can have little gaps which wouldn't actually hold water).
Mold releases are tricky with this stuff, as it really sticks to everything. In fact that is really it's biggest advantage. I think the best way to use this stuff is to make it permanent. It's quite flimsy when it's not stuck to anything. If you really want to play with removable plugs, some experimenting should be done. A thin coat of oil, grease, or Merphy's oil soap may prevent if from bonding. Try it out on your loan mower, worst case you'll have a mower with fins (which will make it go faster).
An alternative release method that has been mentioned is to put something like Al foil under it. If you do this the foil will stay with the plug forever. I'd worry about a small hole in the foil letting the foam stick to some paint somewhere. Cling rap might be a better approach for this reason.