Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2015, 02:02 PM   #31 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Stream - '16 Volkswagen Jetta
90 day: 33.7 mpg (US)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerohead View Post
*Jamie,or whoever is the 'engineer' on Mythbusters,ought to already understand the difference in the relationship between the Reynolds number of a golf ball and an automobile.It would have been covered in Fluid Mechanics,which he'd have to pass in order to get a degree.
I remember reading once that none of them have degrees in expected fields for what they do. IIRC one of them had a foreign language degree, and any others were honorary.

Being a complete aerodynamics rookie, I have nothing to add to the dimple discussion but it is interesting to read.

The Following User Says Thank You to bentring For This Useful Post:
aerohead (03-21-2015)
Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 03-21-2015, 04:02 PM   #32 (permalink)
I got ideas

Beast - '97 Mercury Mountaineer
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerohead View Post
*Chronologically,it seems like the Mythbusters episode was the catalyst for the concept of dimples and drag reduction entering into the public mind.
*Jamie,or whoever is the 'engineer' on Mythbusters,ought to already understand the difference in the relationship between the Reynolds number of a golf ball and an automobile.It would have been covered in Fluid Mechanics,which he'd have to pass in order to get a degree.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
*Boundary layer aerodynamics of railroad trains would not be germane to a discussion of automobile boundary layers.The volume of the BL of a railroad train can easily exceed its frontal area.
*If you have another research which addresses dimples and automobiles which is peer-reviewed,we could look at that.