Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > EcoModding Central
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2009, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master EcoModder

Maroon Ballon - '98 Chrysler Town & Country LXI
90 day: 26.42 mpg (US)

MaEsTRO - '95 Geo Metro 5spd hatch, 3 cyl
Question Question for Metro owners.

I test drove an 2000 Metro yesterday and I was unimpressed. This car had a nice interior and low miles and is a one owner car, but the outside was bashed up and the engine was covered with oily dirt from a leak somewhere.

The car seemed to vibrate pretty badly, and I'm wondering if this is normal for a 3 cylinder engine. I'm guessing that something was wrong, and that it was only running on 2, but I have no experience with these engines, and I did no further testing. It clearly would not climb the steep hills in my neighborhood, as it had a hard time accelerating once it was up to about 50 MPH.

Also the shifter for the 5 speed was very stiff. Stiffer than any car I've driven, and I've driven many different cars over 35 years.

Are these idiosyncrasies that Metro owners are used to, or is this as I suspect, just a POS?

This guy didn't know much about the car. He is selling it for his mother, and I think his main selling point is the low miles. 72k for a 2000.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 11-25-2009, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
(:

Blue - '93 Ford Tempo
Last 3: 27.29 mpg (US)

F150 - '94 Ford F150 XLT 4x4
90 day: 18.5 mpg (US)

Sport Coupe - '92 Ford Tempo GL
Last 3: 69.62 mpg (US)

ShWing! - '82 honda gold wing Interstate
90 day: 33.65 mpg (US)

Moon Unit - '98 Mercury Sable LX Wagon
90 day: 21.24 mpg (US)
Thanked 3,555 Times in 2,218 Posts
That car has problems.

If it's a good price and you can do the work it's probably worth fixing.