Go Back   EcoModder Forum > EcoModding > Aerodynamics
Register Now
 Register Now

Reply  Post New Thread

Submit Tools LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2008, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
EcoModding Lurker

Another Vortex Generator Application?

I had never heard of Vortex Generator's before coming to this forum. I have no experience with them other than reading everyone else's posts about them. According to many people they seem to work. Correct me if I'm wrong but they help the air flow easier causing the air to flow faster by causing the air to spiral.

If this is the case, could a row of vortex generators be used inside an air intake tube to make the air flow easier and faster from the air box to the engine? Just a theory. Just curious to what others think.

Alt Today
Popular topics

Other popular topics in this forum...

Old 06-06-2008, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ex-lurker

Skeeter - '05 Toyota Corolla LE
90 day: 35.55 mpg (US)
Uhm... LINK. I'd be reticent to put anything in my air intake post-filter as if anything got knocked loose it'd break my engine. Theory sounds good, though.

And welcome to the site
Old 06-06-2008, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Cd
Ultimate Fail

Thanked 1,121 Times in 679 Posts
That's the selling point behind the 'Tornado' brand 'fuelsaver'. It supposedly makes the air spiral into a vortex.

It does nothing ( except makes your wallet thinner. )

In one test, it actually reduced fuel economy, due to the fact that it is a restriction in the intake.

" Any vortex that is generated is immediately destroyed when the air hits the throttle body ."

So .... if you could create a VG effect inside the manifold, it might do .... something .... but maybe ( probably ) not.

Sorry. It sounds like a great idea though.
Old 06-06-2008, 04:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Cd
Ultimate Fail

Thanked 1,121 Times in 679 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by i_am_socket View Post